Parties adopt final written addresses over Edo Governorship elections petition



law tv gavel 3Parties involved in the Edo State election petition tribunal, on Wednesday, adopted their final written addresses bringing petitions a step closer to judgement day.

Five political parties filed petitions on several grounds to nullify the outcome of the September 19, 2020 Edo State governorship election that brought in Godwin Obaseki.

The political parties are Action Democratic Party (ADP), Action Peoples Party (APP), Action Alliance (AA), Allied Peoples Movement (APM) and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

The respondents in the various petitions are governor Godwin Obaseki, his deputy, Philip Shaibu, the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Osagie Ize-Iyamu.

At the resumed hearing in Benin City, the petitioners and respondents adopted their processes, and asked the tribunal to depend on arguments stated in the written addresses.

While the petitioners prayed the tribunal to grant their reliefs, the respondents argued that the various petitions lack merit and should be discountenanced.

Thereafter, the Justice Yunusa Musa-led tribunal reserved judgement which would be communicated to counsel.

Leave a Reply